In Ohio, state mandates determine the value of and type of auto insurance required for all auto owners. The laws require all drivers to purchase auto insurance to lower the potential for auto accident-related lawsuits. A failure to comply with the law leads to financial penalties and potential license suspensions. Auto Insurance Companies can help auto owners review the mandate and circumstances related to auto accidents.
What is the Basic Auto Insurance Mandate?
Currently, the state of Ohio requires auto liability coverage only. The policy must provide a minimum of $25,000 for the first injured party and/or fatality. The maximum coverage under the mandate is $50,000 to cover accidents in which multiple parties were injured. It must also provide no less than $25,000 for any property damage that resulted from the accident.
When is Proof of Coverage Required?
All auto owners must provide proof of insurance coverage when they are stopped in traffic by law enforcement officers. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires the auto owners to show proof at any time that the owner registers a new vehicle or renews their auto registration. The agency can also request proof of coverage during random insurance verification efforts.
Is the Owner at Fault When Another Party is Driving Their Vehicle?
No, the auto owner doesn’t face any liabilities if a licensed driver is operating their vehicle and becomes involved in an accident. However, if the owner allows an unlicensed driver to operate their vehicle, the auto owner could face some repercussions. If the individual isn’t added to the policy, the insurance won’t provide coverage for the accident.
What Happens if a Child or Teen Causes Property Damage with the Vehicle?
It is the responsibility of the automobile owner to maintain control over their vehicle at all times. They must remove the keys from the ignition and follow steps to prevent children from operating the vehicle. If a child causes property damage with the vehicle, the auto owner could be held accountable. If a legal claim is filed, the auto owner could face excessive costs based on the outcome of the legal action.
In Ohio, state-mandated insurance laws identify auto liability insurance as the state’s minimum. Any driver who doesn’t follow the law could incur administrative as well as civil penalties. Auto owners who need further answers about coverage contact Auto Insurance Companies or visit schlatherinsurance.com now.
Be the first to like.